Shape the Future of Rail with BNF

Our mission: to enable you to access railway standardisation activities

In Paris, Berlin, London, Beijing, Tokyo and more places, standardisation committees are already working on common specifications for the guided transport systems of the future. You can take the lead by participating in the establishment of national, European, and international railway standards! Our mission is to help you do just that.

Activities open to everyone...

Any party in France who can demonstrate an interest in railway standardisation (including operators, manufacturers, public authorities, associations etc.) may participate in activities coordinated by BNF, the French Office for Railway Standardisation.

In our standardisation committees, stakeholders are involved in every step of standard-setting activities. They are invited to follow work programmes, participate in drawing up standardisation documents, and take positions of responsibility in standardisation bodies.

...at a reasonable cost

BNF is a non-profit organisation. Because we are committed to making railway standardisation activities accessible at the lowest cost, we strive to rigorously control our own budget. Since 2011, the unit amount we request as a contribution to the costs of standard setting has decreased by 12%*. Furthermore, exemptions from these fees are provided for by regulations, for SMEs for example.

* cost of a seat in constant Euros, excluding electrotechnical standardisation activities, for which the amount of the contribution is set each year by the French Standardisation Association (AFNOR).

In Europe

The standards used by the railway sector in France (and in many countries around the world) are predominantly defined at the European level. They often support European regulations, including the Technical Specifications for Interoperability (TSI) of the rail networks of EU Member States.

The European Committee for Standardization (CEN)

At CEN, European standards for the railway sector are drawn up by the CEN/TC 256 "Railway applications" technical committee, for urban and interurban transport systems, with the exception of matters relating to the standardisation of electrotechnology or telecommunications. The CEN/TC 256 is made up of three sub-committees: SC 1 (infrastructure), SC 2 (products for rolling stock), and SC 3 (systems for rolling stock).

The European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)

The European standardisation of railway electrotechnical matters is carried out by the CLC/TC 9X "Railway applications" technical committee. It is made up of three sub-committees: SC 9XA (signalling, telecommunication and signal processing systems), SC 9XB (on-board electromechanical equipment) and SC 9XC (fixed installations).

The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)

At ETSI, a European standardisation body based in Sophia Antipolis (Alpes-Maritimes, France), the ETSI/RT "Railway telecommunications" technical committee draws up standards specific to this field.

Recognised expertise

French experts can be found in nearly all European working groups.

The chairs of the CEN/TC 256/SC 3 and ETSI/RT committees, as well as the secretariats of the CLC/TC 9X, CLC/SC 9XA and CLC/SC 9XC committees are all entrusted to French experts.

Recognised expertise

French experts can be found in nearly all European working groups.

The chairs of the CEN/TC 256/SC 3 and ETSI/RT committees, as well as the secretariats of the CLC/TC 9X, CLC/SC 9XA and CLC/SC 9XC committees are all entrusted to French experts.

At international level

Railway standards are increasingly being drawn up at the international level. These standards are mainly voluntary, and there is close coordination with European standardisation. This is part of formalised "migration" (CEN-ISO) or "merging" (CENELEC-IEC) strategies for European and international corpuses of standards.

International involvement

French experts can be found in most international working groups.

The chair of the ISO/TC 269/SC 2* and the secretariat of the IEC/TC 9 committees are entrusted to French experts. Additionally, the secretariats of the ISO/TC 269/SC 1* and ISO/TC 269/SC 2 are maintained by BNF.

* part of a twinning agreement with China

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Having for a long time been drawn up in technical committees dedicated to general subjects (such as steel), ISO railway standards are now mainly developed by the ISO/TC 269 "Railway applications" technical committee and its sub-committees SC 1 (infrastructure), SC 2 (rolling stock) and SC 3 (operations and services). The creation of the ISO/TC 269 committee in 2012 was a joint Franco-German initiative.

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)

For almost a century (1924), the IEC/TC 9 "Electrical equipment and systems for railways" committee has established international electrotechnical standards for the sector. Many of them are taken up at European level by the CLC/TC 9X committee.

International involvement

French experts can be found in most international working groups.

The chair of the ISO/TC 269/SC 2* and the secretariat of the IEC/TC 9 committees are entrusted to French experts. Additionally, the secretariats of the ISO/TC 269/SC 1* and ISO/TC 269/SC 2 are maintained by BNF.

* part of a twinning agreement with China

In France

Because of their resolute orientation towards Europe and the rest of the world, French stakeholders in railway standardisation establish few standards at the national level. However, it is within the framework of French standardisation committees that, having sometimes taken the initiative, they monitor, guide and approve European and international standardisation activities, through consensus and in accordance with, in particular, the principles of openness, transparency and efficiency.

The French Office for Railway Standardisation (BNF)

To respond to national standardisation needs and to monitor European and international standardisation activities, BNF coordinates more than 60 standardisation committees covering all technical railway fields*. Each committee has a collaborative platform hosted by AFNOR and managed by BNF.

* excluding telecommunications (opening planned for 2020)

The French Standardisation Association (AFNOR)

Within the framework of a delegation provided for by regulations, AFNOR entrusts BNF with the management of railway standardisation activities. AFNOR coordinates a Strategic Committee (CoS) for the standardisation of transport and logistics. It also maintains the secretariat of the CTELEC, the working body of the French Electrotechnical Committee.

A dynamic sector

In France, all sectors considered, it is estimated that one in twenty experts is involved in railway standardisation activities and that, among recently published standards, one standard in forty relates to railways.

These proportions have doubled in ten years.

A dynamic sector

In France, all sectors considered, it is estimated that one in twenty experts is involved in railway standardisation activities and that, among recently published standards, one standard in forty relates to railways.

These proportions have doubled in ten years.

Go further...

More on BNF > Wikipedia

The online encyclopaedia Wikipedia provides detailed information about BNF organisation and its activities.

Learn more about the railway sector > Fer de France

Fer de France is an inter-professional body that brings together all public and private stakeholders in the rail industry and encourages cooperation in the sector. Their high-level committee (CHN), in which BNF is represented, is dedicated to standardisation.

Learn about the French standardisation system > France Normalisation

Standards and their promotion are of public interest and are carried out in France by AFNOR and bodies approved by the Minister for Industry as sector standardisation offices. BNF is one of the bodies that makes up the "French Standardisation System".

Learn about the network for the French-speaking world > RNF

The Réseau Normalisation et Francophonie (RNF) works to develop the French-speaking world in its economic dimension by encouraging the use of standards in French-speaking countries. BNF has been a member of the network since 2013.

Purchasing standards > AFNOR Store

Voluntary standards published in France are made available to the public for purchase by AFNOR. A proportion of the proceeds from sales is passed on to sector offices. This currently represents around 7% of BNF resources.

Close Menu

avec le BNF, prenez un train d'avance

Notre mission : vous donner accès aux travaux de normalisation ferroviaire

A Paris, Berlin, Londres, Pékin ou Tokyo, des groupes de normalisation préparent dès aujourd’hui les spécifications communes des systèmes de transport guidé de demain. Participer à l’élaboration des normes nationales, européennes et internationales du secteur, c’est prendre un train d’avance ! Vous le permettre, telle est notre mission.

Des travaux ouverts à tous...

Exploitants, industriels, autorités publiques, associations... tous ceux qui justifient en France d'un intérêt pour la normalisation ferroviaire peuvent participer aux travaux animés par le BNF.

Dans nos commissions de normalisation, les parties prenantes sont impliquées à toutes les étapes du travail normatif. Elles sont invitées à suivre les programmes de travail, à participer à l’élaboration des documents de normalisation et à prendre des responsabilités dans les instances de normalisation.

...pour un coût maîtrisé

Le BNF est une association à but non lucratif. Soucieux de rendre accessibles les travaux de normalisation ferroviaire au moindre coût, nous veillons scrupuleusement à la maîtrise de nos budgets. Depuis 2011, le montant unitaire que nous facturons pour la participation aux frais d'élaboration des normes a ainsi baissé de 12%*. En outre, des exonérations de frais sont prévues par la réglementation, par exemple pour les PME.

* coût du siège en euros constants, hors travaux de normalisation électrotechnique pour lesquels le montant de la participation est fixé chaque année par l'AFNOR

En Europe

Les normes du secteur ferroviaire utilisées en France (et dans de nombreux pays dans le monde) sont très majoritairement définies au niveau européen. Elles viennent souvent à l’appui de règlementations européennes, dont les spécifications techniques d’interopérabilité (STI) des réseaux ferrés des États membres de l’Union.

Le Comité européen de normalisation (CEN)

Au CEN, les normes européennes du domaine ferroviaire sont élaborées par le comité technique CEN/TC 256 "Applications ferroviaires", pour les systèmes de transport urbain et interurbain, à l'exception des sujets qui relèvent de la normalisation des électrotechnologies ou des télécommunications. Le comité CEN/TC 256 comprend trois sous-comités : SC 1 (infrastructure), SC 2 (produits pour le matériel roulant) et SC 3 (systèmes du matériel roulant).

Le Comité européen de normalisation électrotechnique (CENELEC)

La normalisation européenne des sujets électrotechniques ferroviaires est assurée par le comité technique CLC/TC 9X "Applications ferroviaires". Ce comité comprend trois sous-comités : SC 9XA (systèmes de signalisation, de télécommunication et de traitement du signal), SC 9XB (matériels électromécaniques embarqués) et SC 9XC (installations fixes).

L'Institut européen de normalisation des télécommunications (ETSI)

A l'ETSI, organisme de normalisation européen dont le siège est situé à Sophia Antipolis (Alpes-Maritimes), le comité technique ETSI/RT "Télécommunications ferroviaires" prépare les normes propres à ce domaine.

Une expertise reconnue

Les experts français sont présents dans la quasi-totalité des groupes de travail européens.

Les présidences des comités CEN/TC 256/SC 3 et ETSI/RT, ainsi que les secrétariats des comités CLC/TC 9X, CLC/SC 9XA et CLC/SC 9XC sont confiés à des experts français.

Une expertise reconnue

Les experts français sont présents dans la quasi-totalité des groupes de travail européens.

Les présidences des comités CEN/TC 256/SC 3 et ETSI/RT, ainsi que les secrétariats des comités CLC/TC 9X, CLC/SC 9XA et CLC/SC 9XC sont confiés à des experts français.

Dans le monde

Une part croissante des normes ferroviaires est élaborée au niveau international. Ces normes sont essentiellement d’application volontaire. La coordination avec la normalisation européenne est très étroite. Elle s’inscrit dans le cadre de stratégies formalisées de “migration” (CEN-ISO) ou de “convergence” (CENELEC-IEC) des patrimoines normatifs européens et internationaux.

Une forte présence internationale

Des experts français sont présents dans la plupart des groupes de travail internationaux.

La présidence du comité ISO/TC 269/SC 2* et le secrétariat du comité IEC/TC 9 sont confiés à des experts français. De plus, les secrétariats des comités ISO/TC 269/SC 1* et ISO/TC 269/SC 2 sont assurés par le BNF.

* en jumelage avec la Chine

L'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO)

Longtemps préparées dans des comités techniques dédiés à des sujets généraux (tel que l'acier), les normes ferroviaires de l'ISO sont désormais conçues principalement au sein du comité technique ISO/TC 269 "Applications ferroviaires" et de ses sous-comités SC 1 (infrastructure), SC 2 (matériel roulant) et SC 3 (exploitation et services). La création du comité ISO/TC 269 en 2012 est une initiative franco-allemande.

La Commission électrotechnique internationale (IEC)

Depuis bientôt un siècle (1924) , le comité IEC/TC 9 "Matériels et systèmes électriques ferroviaires" établit des normes électrotechniques internationales pour le secteur. Nombre d'entre elles sont reprises au niveau européen par le comité CLC/TC 9X.

Une forte présence internationale

Des experts français sont présents dans la plupart des groupes de travail internationaux.

La présidence du comité ISO/TC 269/SC 2* et le secrétariat du comité IEC/TC 9 sont confiés à des experts français. De plus, les secrétariats des comités ISO/TC 269/SC 1* et ISO/TC 269/SC 2 sont assurés par le BNF.

* en jumelage avec la Chine

En France

Parce qu’ils sont résolument tournés vers l’Europe et le monde, les acteurs français de la normalisation ferroviaire développent peu de normes au niveau national. Pour autant, c’est dans le cadre de commissions de normalisation françaises qu’après en avoir parfois pris l’initiative, ils suivent, orientent et approuvent les travaux de normalisation européens et internationaux, de façon consensuelle et dans le respect des principes d’ouverture, de transparence et d’efficacité notamment.

Le Bureau de normalisation ferroviaire (BNF)

Pour répondre aux besoins de normalisation nationaux et pour suivre les travaux de normalisation européens et internationaux, le BNF anime plus de 60 commissions de normalisation couvrant tous les domaines techniques ferroviaires*. Chaque commission dispose d'une plate-forme collaborative hébergée par l'AFNOR et gérée par le BNF.

* hors télécommunications (ouverture prévue en 2019)

L'Association française de normalisation (AFNOR)

Dans le cadre d'une délégation prévue par la réglementation, l'AFNOR confie au BNF la gestion des activités de normalisation ferroviaire. L'AFNOR anime un comité stratégique (CoS) sur la normalisation des transports et de la logistique. Elle assure en outre le secrétariat du CTELEC, instance de travail du Comité électrotechnique français.

Un secteur dynamique

En France, tous secteurs d’activité confondus, on estime qu’un expert sur vingt est impliqué dans des travaux de normalisation ferroviaire et que, parmi les normes récemment publiées, une norme sur quarante porte sur un sujet ferroviaire.

Ces parts ont doublé en dix ans.

Un secteur dynamique

En France, tous secteurs d’activité confondus, on estime qu’un expert sur vingt est impliqué dans des travaux de normalisation ferroviaire et que, parmi les normes récemment publiées, une norme sur quarante porte sur des sujets ferroviaires.

Ces parts ont doublé en dix ans.

Aller plus loin...

Plus sur le BNF > Wikipédia

L'encyclopédie en ligne Wikipédia propose des informations détaillées sur l'organisation et les activités du BNF.

Découvrir la filière ferroviaire > Fer de France

Organisme interprofessionnel qui fédère l’ensemble des acteurs publics et privés des métiers du rail, Fer de France encourage les coopérations au sein de la filière. Il dispose d'un comité à haut niveau (CHN) dédié à la normalisation dans lequel le BNF est représenté.

Découvrir le système français de normalisation > France Normalisation

Activité d'intérêt général, la normalisation et sa promotion sont assurées en France par l'AFNOR et les organismes agréés par le ministre chargé de l'industrie comme bureaux de normalisation sectoriels. Le BNF est l'un des organismes constituant le "système français de normalisation".

Découvrir le réseau francophone > RNF

Le Réseau Normalisation et Francophonie (RNF) œuvre au développement de la Francophonie économique en encourageant l’usage des normes dans les pays d'expression française. Le BNF est membre du réseau depuis 2013.

Acheter des normes > Boutique AFNOR

Les normes volontaires publiées en France sont mises à la disposition du public par l'AFNOR à titre onéreux. Une fraction du produit des ventes est reversée aux bureaux sectoriels. Cette part représente actuellement environ 7% des ressources du BNF.

Fermer le menu